In Nevada, domestic battery is defined as violence that is inflicted from one person to another, particularly when the alleged victim is a spouse or a former spouse, the offender’s child, or any blood relative. Some of the acts that are considered as domestic battery include hitting or punching, slapping, strangling, and even holding a person against his or her will. In line with this, the punishments for domestic battery in the state of Nevada are listed below.
When no deadly weapons, major injuries, or strangulation is involved, as well as when the victim is not pregnant, the penalties imposed for domestic battery varies depending on the number of offenses made. According to a Las Vegas domestic violence charges lawyer, a first domestic battery offense within seven years is considered a misdemeanor in Nevada. In this case, jail time can be anywhere from a couple of days up to six months. For a second offense, the jail time is anywhere from 20 days to six months, while for the third offense, the perpetrator can be jailed anywhere from one to six years in Nevada State Prison because the third offense is already a category B felony in the state.
The penalties vary when the domestic battery involves the use of deadly weapons, or serious injuries are inflicted on the victim. In this case, when the offender uses no deadly weapon but serious injuries are sustained by the victim, then the perpetrator can face jail time anywhere from one to five years in the state prison. On the other hand, when the offender uses a deadly weapon, but no serious injuries are inflicted, then the perpetrator can face a jail time of two to ten years in the state prison. In both cases, there is already a mandatory fine of $10000.
When the offender strangles the victim, the act is considered as a category C felony in the state, such that imprisonment of one to five years in the state prison can be imposed on the offender. Alongside this, the perpetrator can also be fined up to $10000, depending on the discretion of the judge handling the case. The penalties in all the instances above will vary when the victim is pregnant because, in this case, the offender can end up with a year in jail even during the first offense.
In conclusion, the penalties for domestic battery varies depending on the situation, as well as the number of offenses against the perpetrator. In this case, what is important is to get due to justice for the victim as soon as possible because nobody deserves to be hurt, most especially by someone they love and trust. Thus, make sure to reach out for help if you need to or lend a helping hand to those you know who need to be rescued from the situation that they are in. Rest assured that help will always be available.